Where to buy Triptorelin
Top 5 of 23 by PepFinder Score- 1
Direct SARMSUS based · from US$10.12/mg8.0Visit store - 2
Adaptog ResearchGB based · from £2.76/mg7.4Visit store - 3
Core PeptidesUS based · from US$27.00/mg7.2Visit store - 4
Cenexa LabsUS based · from US$30.00/mg7.1Visit store - 5
Apex LaboratoryLocation not stated · from US$25.00/mg7.0Visit store
Ranked on reliability, delivery, pricing, support and reviews. Nobody pays to be listed or to rank higher.
What is triptorelin?
Triptorelin belongs to the family of GnRH agonists, alongside leuprorelin (leuprolide), goserelin, buserelin and nafarelin. All are variations on the ten-amino-acid hormone gonadorelin, redesigned to bind the pituitary GnRH receptor more strongly and resist breakdown. In triptorelin the change is a single substitution, D-tryptophan for glycine at position 6, which the Trelstar label reports gives it roughly 13-fold higher LH-releasing and 21-fold higher FSH-releasing activity than the native hormone in animal studies [1].
The clinical products are depot formulations: triptorelin pamoate or acetate embedded in biodegradable microgranules that release the peptide over weeks. Decapeptyl SR is available in the UK as 3 mg (one month), 11.25 mg (three months) and 22.5 mg (six months) intramuscular injections [2] [3]; Trelstar in the US comes in the same three strengths [1]; and Triptodur is a 22.5 mg six-monthly injection for children with central precocious puberty [4]. An immediate-release 0.1 mg daily form is used in fertility clinics to prevent premature ovulation.
Research vendors sell the triptorelin peptide, usually as triptorelin acetate, as a freeze-dried powder, typically 100 microgram or 2 mg vials, and it is marketed in bodybuilding forums as a one-off injection to restart testosterone after anabolic steroids. That material is not a licensed medicine, and the use is not one any trial has examined. Related compounds on this site include HCG, HMG and kisspeptin-10, all of which act on the same axis in different places. Our guide to what research peptides are explains the research label.
How triptorelin works: flare, then shutdown
The pituitary only responds to GnRH when the signal comes in pulses. A 1978 primate experiment showed that continuous GnRH exposure fails to sustain LH and FSH release and desensitises the gland [5]. A depot GnRH agonist exploits this. The Trelstar label describes what happens: after the first injection there is a transient surge in LH, FSH, testosterone and oestradiol, and then, after two to four weeks of continuous exposure, a sustained fall in LH and FSH and a marked reduction in testicular steroid production, bringing testosterone down to the level seen in surgically castrated men [1].
The initial surge is called the flare. In prostate cancer it can temporarily worsen the disease, and the label warns of bone pain, neuropathy, blood in the urine, urinary obstruction and spinal cord compression during the first weeks of treatment [1]; the UK SmPC advises considering an anti-androgen during the initial phase [2]. In children with precocious puberty, Triptodur’s label warns that signs of puberty, including vaginal bleeding, may increase during the first two to four weeks because gonadotropins and sex steroids rise above baseline before they fall [4]. The flare is a side effect of the medicine, not a treatment in itself.
Once suppression is established, the effect is medical castration for as long as the depot lasts. In men, testosterone falls below 50 ng/dL within about four weeks [1]; in women, oestrogen falls to postmenopausal levels, which is what shrinks endometriosis deposits and fibroids. That is the triptorelin testosterone curve: a flare, then a shutdown. When the drug is stopped the axis recovers over weeks to months, more slowly after long treatment.
What the research shows: prostate cancer
Triptorelin was compared head to head with leuprorelin in 284 men with advanced prostate cancer, randomised to triptorelin 3.75 mg or leuprolide 7.5 mg into muscle every 28 days for nine injections. At day 29, fewer men on triptorelin had reached castrate testosterone (91.2% against 99.3%), but by day 57 the two were equivalent (97.7% against 97.1%), and the cumulative castration maintenance rate between days 29 and 253 was 96.2% for triptorelin and 91.2% for leuprolide. Nine-month survival was higher with triptorelin (97.0% against 90.5%), a secondary finding the authors did not over-interpret. Both drugs were well tolerated [6].
The Trelstar label’s clinical studies section reports that in the majority of patients testosterone rose above baseline and then declined to castrate levels within four weeks [1]. The UK licence covers locally advanced and metastatic prostate cancer, as an alternative to surgical castration, and as adjuvant or neoadjuvant treatment with radiotherapy or radical prostatectomy in high-risk disease [2] [3].
What the research shows: breast cancer, endometriosis and precocious puberty
In premenopausal women with early breast cancer, triptorelin has been tested as a way to protect the ovaries during chemotherapy. The PROMISE-GIM6 trial randomised 281 women at 16 Italian sites to chemotherapy alone or with monthly triptorelin. Twelve months after the last chemotherapy cycle, 25.9% of the chemotherapy-alone group had early menopause against 8.9% with triptorelin, an absolute difference of 17 percentage points [7]. Long-term follow-up (median 7.3 years) found a five-year cumulative incidence of menstrual resumption of 72.6% with triptorelin against 64.0% without; eight pregnancies against three, a difference that was not statistically significant; and no significant difference in disease-free survival, although the study was not powered for that outcome [8]. The UK SmPC also licenses triptorelin as adjuvant treatment, with tamoxifen or an aromatase inhibitor, for endocrine-responsive early breast cancer in women at high risk of recurrence who remain premenopausal after chemotherapy [2].
For endometriosis and uterine fibroids, the UK licence is for one 3 mg injection every 28 days, started in the first five days of the cycle, for a maximum of six months (and at least three months for fibroids before surgery); a further course beyond six months is not to be given because of bone loss [2]. In central precocious puberty, a 48-week phase 3 study of the six-monthly formulation in 44 children found 93.2% had prepubertal (suppressed) LH levels at month 6 and 97.7% at month 12, with no unexpected drug-related adverse events [9]. Triptodur is licensed in the US for children aged 2 and over with central precocious puberty [4], and Decapeptyl SR 22.5 mg carries the equivalent UK indication for onset before 8 years in girls and 10 in boys [3].
A small subcutaneous dose of triptorelin is also used as a diagnostic stimulation test in children, in place of scarce native GnRH. A 2025 study of 341 girls found that an LH peak above 7.14 IU/L three hours after triptorelin identified central precocious puberty with 94% sensitivity and 96% specificity [10]. The test works because a single dose of the agonist produces the stimulatory flare and nothing more.
Human studies and clinical use: licensed versus research-store use
The licensed indications are set out above and all involve prolonged suppression of the axis or a single diagnostic dose in children. Triptorelin is also used, in specialist services and under national guidelines, to suppress puberty in adolescents with gender dysphoria; that use is outside the licensed indications in most markets and is governed by clinical guidance that has changed in recent years, so we do not summarise it here.
Research-store use is different in kind. The claim, usually searched as triptorelin PCT, is that one 100 microgram injection of triptorelin after a course of anabolic steroids will restart natural testosterone production, using the flare as a jump-start. We searched for a trial of this and found none. The pharmacology argues against relying on it: the flare lasts days, the pituitary in a man coming off steroids is already suppressed by the steroids themselves, and the dose is the one used to test children’s pituitaries, not to treat anything. Repeated or larger doses risk the opposite effect, because sustained agonist exposure is exactly how the drug produces castration [1] [5]. The evidence for helping recovery after steroids, such as it is, involves HCG and selective oestrogen receptor modulators, and is reviewed on the HCG page.
How long does triptorelin take to work?
Suppression is not immediate. In the prostate cancer trial, 91.2% of men had reached castrate testosterone by day 29 and 97.7% by day 57 [6], and the label gives about four weeks for testosterone to fall below 50 ng/dL after the initial rise [1]. Before that comes the flare, with hormone levels above baseline for the first two to four weeks [1] [4]. After a single 100 microgram immediate-release dose, the triptorelin itself is largely gone within a couple of days: the Decapeptyl SmPC reports a half-life of 7.6 hours in healthy volunteers and 11.7 hours in men with prostate cancer, after a three to four hour distribution phase [2].
Triptorelin dosage in licensed products and published research
Reported for information; not recommendations, and not transferable to vials of unknown content. In prostate cancer, Trelstar is given as a single intramuscular injection of 3.75 mg every 4 weeks, 11.25 mg every 12 weeks or 22.5 mg every 24 weeks; the label states the strengths are not additive because they release differently, so two 3.75 mg doses are not a 7.5 mg dose [1]. Decapeptyl SR in the UK uses the same three strengths at the same intervals, with the 3 mg monthly injection for endometriosis and fibroids [2] [3]. For central precocious puberty, Triptodur is 22.5 mg into muscle once every 24 weeks, with LH levels checked one to two months after starting [4].
In the breast cancer trial, triptorelin was given intramuscularly at least a week before chemotherapy and then every four weeks for the duration of chemotherapy [7]. The diagnostic test in children uses a single subcutaneous dose of the immediate-release form, with LH measured at 180 minutes [10]. The 100 microgram “PCT” dose circulating online is borrowed from that diagnostic use. The peptide calculator can convert a research triptorelin vial into micrograms per syringe unit; it cannot tell you what a dose will do to your own axis, and the literature does not either.
Forms and routes
Every licensed long-acting product is an intramuscular depot of microgranules reconstituted with sterile water immediately before injection [1] [2] [4]; the Trelstar label specifies no other diluent. The immediate-release 0.1 mg form is a daily subcutaneous injection. Triptorelin is a decapeptide and is not absorbed by mouth. Research vendors sell the acetate as a freeze-dried powder, which is an immediate-release form: a research vial cannot reproduce the month-long release of a depot, whatever the label says.
Triptorelin side effects and safety
Most side effects follow from the loss of sex hormones. The Trelstar label lists hot flushes, skeletal pain, impotence and headache as the most common reactions (5% or more) with the 3.75 mg strength, with leg oedema and leg pain added at the higher strengths [1]. The label also carries warnings on tumour flare, metabolic changes including raised glucose and cardiovascular risk with androgen deprivation, convulsions, severe cutaneous adverse reactions, QT interval prolongation, anaphylaxis and angioedema, and embryo-fetal toxicity [1]. The UK SmPC warns that GnRH agonists reduce bone mineral density, which is why courses for endometriosis and fibroids are capped at six months and why particular caution is needed in people with osteoporosis risk factors [2].
In children, Triptodur’s most common reactions (4.5% or more) were injection-site reactions, vaginal bleeding, hot flush, headache, cough and common infections; the label also warns of psychiatric events such as emotional lability and of idiopathic intracranial hypertension with GnRH agonists [4]. In the six-monthly formulation study, no unexpected drug-related adverse events were reported over 48 weeks [9]. In the breast cancer trials the drug was given alongside chemotherapy, so its own adverse effects were not separately reported in the abstracts [7] [8].
For a man injecting research-grade triptorelin, the specific hazard is the one the label describes as pharmacology: an initial testosterone surge followed, if exposure is sustained, by suppression to castrate levels that can take months to reverse. That risk is dose- and formulation-dependent and cannot be assessed for a vial whose content and release profile are unknown. Unlicensed vials also carry the usual risks of unknown purity, contamination and absent batch release.
Regulatory status
Triptorelin is a prescription-only medicine in the UK (Decapeptyl SR, Gonapeptyl), the US (Trelstar, Triptodur), the EU and other markets. It is not a controlled drug under the UK Misuse of Drugs Act, but supplying an unlicensed triptorelin product is an offence under medicines law, as set out on the UK legal status page. In the US, products sold as research chemicals for human use fall under the FDA’s rules on unapproved drugs, described on the US legal status page; the legal status overview covers Canada, Australia and Europe.
For athletes, triptorelin is named in section S2.2.1 of the WADA Prohibited List, testosterone-stimulating peptides in males, alongside gonadorelin, buserelin, goserelin, leuprorelin and nafarelin, and is prohibited at all times in men [11]. The paradox that a drug used to abolish testosterone is banned as a testosterone stimulant is explained by the flare: a single dose stimulates. A vial sold as a research chemical is not a licensed medicine and is not covered by the safety data on this page.
Storage and handling
Trelstar is stored at 20 °C to 25 °C and must not be frozen [1]; Decapeptyl SR is kept below 25 °C in its carton and used immediately after reconstitution [2]. These are depot microgranules, and the instructions do not transfer to research powder. For a freeze-dried acetate the usual rules apply: cold, dry, protected from light, and refrigerated once reconstituted, as set out in our guides to storing peptides and bacteriostatic water.
Buying and testing
PepFinder does not sell triptorelin. To compare research vendors, see triptorelin prices, with UK and US listings. A decapeptide is straightforward to verify: a certificate of analysis should show a mass close to 1311 g/mol for the free peptide and an HPLC purity figure, and our guide to reading a peptide COA explains what those mean. The third-party tested list shows which vendors publish independent results, and our guides to third-party peptide testing and spotting a fake peptide supplier cover the rest. Given what a mis-dosed GnRH agonist can do to the axis, identity and quantity are the two things worth checking.
Triptorelin prices
Compare Triptorelin prices by supplier →23 suppliers in our directory list Triptorelin. Median listed price per mg: US$26.49, £5.34, from validated listings; each currency is compared separately.
By country: United Kingdom · United States · Canada · Australia · New Zealand · Europe
References
- [1] Verity Pharmaceuticals Inc. TRELSTAR (triptorelin pamoate) for injectable suspension: US prescribing information (July 2026). DailyMed, US National Library of Medicine. 2026. Source
- [2] Ipsen Ltd Decapeptyl SR 3 mg powder and solvent for suspension for injection: summary of product characteristics. electronic medicines compendium (emc). 2026. Source
- [3] Ipsen Ltd Decapeptyl SR 22.5 mg powder and solvent for suspension for injection: summary of product characteristics. electronic medicines compendium (emc). 2026. Source
- [4] Azurity Pharmaceuticals, Inc. TRIPTODUR (triptorelin) for extended-release injectable suspension: US prescribing information (September 2025). DailyMed, US National Library of Medicine. 2025. Source
- [5] Belchetz PE, Plant TM, Nakai Y, Keogh EJ, Knobil E Hypophysial responses to continuous and intermittent delivery of hypothalamic gonadotropin-releasing hormone. Science. 1978. PubMed 100883
- [6] Heyns CF, Simonin MP, Grosgurin P, Schall R, Porchet HC Comparative efficacy of triptorelin pamoate and leuprolide acetate in men with advanced prostate cancer. BJU Int. 2003. PubMed 12887472
- [7] Del Mastro L, Boni L, Michelotti A, et al. Effect of the gonadotropin-releasing hormone analogue triptorelin on the occurrence of chemotherapy-induced early menopause in premenopausal women with breast cancer: a randomized trial. JAMA. 2011. PubMed 21771987
- [8] Lambertini M, Boni L, Michelotti A, et al. Ovarian suppression with triptorelin during adjuvant breast cancer chemotherapy and long-term ovarian function, pregnancies, and disease-free survival: a randomized clinical trial. JAMA. 2015. PubMed 26720025
- [9] Klein K, Yang J, Aisenberg J, et al. Efficacy and safety of triptorelin 6-month formulation in patients with central precocious puberty. J Pediatr Endocrinol Metab. 2016. PubMed 26887034
- [10] Chioma L, Bizzarri C, Longobardi M, et al. Diagnostic accuracy of the triptorelin stimulation test for central precocious puberty in girls. Endocr Connect. 2025. PubMed 41384863
- [11] World Anti-Doping Agency The Prohibited List (section S2.2.1, testosterone-stimulating peptides in males). WADA. 2026. Source
Frequently asked questions
What is triptorelin?
Triptorelin is a synthetic GnRH agonist, a modified version of the hormone gonadorelin, given as a monthly to six-monthly depot injection to switch off testosterone or oestrogen production. It is licensed for prostate cancer, endometriosis, fibroids and central precocious puberty.
What is triptorelin used for?
Advanced prostate cancer, endometriosis, uterine fibroids before surgery, central precocious puberty in children and, in the UK, as adjuvant treatment in premenopausal breast cancer. It is also used to protect the ovaries during chemotherapy.
Does triptorelin increase or decrease testosterone?
Both, in sequence. The first dose causes a transient rise (the flare); with continued exposure the pituitary shuts down and testosterone falls to castrate levels within about four weeks.
Does triptorelin work as PCT after steroids?
No trial has tested a single 100 microgram triptorelin injection as post-cycle therapy. The dose is borrowed from a diagnostic test in children, the flare lasts days, and sustained exposure suppresses rather than restores the axis.
What triptorelin dosage is used medically?
For prostate cancer, 3.75 mg every 4 weeks, 11.25 mg every 12 weeks or 22.5 mg every 24 weeks into muscle. For endometriosis and fibroids, 3 mg monthly for up to six months. For precocious puberty, 22.5 mg every 24 weeks. These are not recommendations.
What are the side effects of triptorelin?
Hot flushes, bone and joint pain, loss of libido and erectile dysfunction in men, headache, injection-site reactions and bone density loss with prolonged use. Labels also warn of tumour flare, metabolic and cardiovascular effects, QT prolongation and severe skin reactions.
How long does triptorelin stay in your system?
A single immediate-release dose has a half-life of about 8 to 12 hours. Depot injections release the drug for one, three or six months, and the hormonal suppression can take further months to reverse.
Is triptorelin the same as leuprolide?
No, but they are closely related GnRH agonists with the same mechanism. A 284-man trial found triptorelin reduced testosterone slightly more slowly than leuprolide but maintained castration as effectively.
Is triptorelin banned in sport?
Yes, for men. WADA names triptorelin among testosterone-stimulating peptides prohibited in males at all times.
Is triptorelin available without prescription?
No. It is prescription-only in every market PepFinder covers. Vials sold as research chemicals are not licensed medicines.
Does triptorelin protect fertility during chemotherapy?
In the PROMISE-GIM6 trial, monthly triptorelin during chemotherapy cut the rate of early menopause from 25.9% to 8.9% at one year and raised the five-year rate of menstrual recovery from 64% to 72.6%. Pregnancies were numerically higher but not significantly so.
Related
PepFinder is an independent directory. We do not sell peptides, and nothing here is medical advice. Research peptides are not licensed medicines. Suppliers cannot pay to change what we write. Spotted an error? Email editorial@pepfinder.com.